Sunday, 6 March 2011

Nathan Gregory Wilkins (E.S.P./History Clock) Live @ The Visitation mix.


In the last few years alongside International Feel, On The Prowl and History Clock has become one of the most reliable record labels around as far as we here at Tourist Towers are concerned. Originally set up by Jonny Burnip and Nathan Gregory Wilkins, they've release some of our favourite records of the last few years, everything from original tracks by Phoreski and The Hardway Bros to reworkings of forgotten disco tracks, (usually heavily doctored with fresh production) edited back into life by the likes of Ivan Smagghe & Tim Paris' 'It's A Fine Line' project and Canadian soft rock don Andrew Allsgood, who's 'Heart' sampling 'Macho Wizard' has already attained something of a classic status in some of the less 'having it' bars and clubs in the North East.
History Clock was also one of the first labels to signal a move away from the ever present German tech-house and whatever minimal techno is called these days that can be somewhat soul-destroying to listen to in a club for more than an hour. Nathans love of classic House music as well as their recent releases also signposts that History Clock may be moving towards an even more dancefloor sound, "I like the original wave of Chicago and New York house, and we're definitely influenced by that sort of thing," Wilkins says. "We're not going to be using fancy software and making it emotionless – it'll be raw and primitive like the original house." Either way, we'll be waiting with baited breath for their next raft of 12"s to drop.
Anyway, on to matters in hand. Last month Nathan dropped in to play some records at The Visitation, the wonderful space-disco night run by the chaps at the equally wonderful 'The Beat' blog, to lay down a set of slow groove rock and space music. Sadly, there are some omissions from the track list here as a handful are so new that we're unable to tell you what they but I'm sure this will in no way hinder your enjoyment of what is one of our very favourite mixes of recent months.

Here are the results of Nathans nefarious lunar exploits:

1. Intro
2. Roy Budd * Hallucinations
3. Unknown
4. Mmm * Love Parade
5. Five Or Six * Another Reason
6. Chantal * Dernier Volta
7. Fist Of Facts * Industrial Dub
8. Unknown
9. James Pants * Say Yes
10. Unknown
11. The Exploding Disco Inevitable
12. Le Corps Du Mince * Gandhi (Andrew Weatherall Remix)
13. DJ's Pareja * Psycho Rhythm
14. Nail / NGW * DNA
15. Trans Am * First Words (NGW Edit)
16. Drezciya * Neon Falls
17. Unknown
18. Unknown
19. YMO * Behind The Mask (Remix)

Nathan G. Wilkins live at The Beat! by The Beat!

Till next time,
Big love. Tourist X

No comments: