Monday, 2 November 2009

I like Ewan Pearson.


It's always nice to be able to write some promo that you actually believe in, so it's a notible pleasure to be able to report that one of my personal favourite DJ's and producers Ewan Pearson will be touching down at Dada@The Cosmic Ballroom here in Newcastle this Saturday (7th of November).
Ewan has been making records for a living for long over a decade now with notable releases on Soma, and the legendary Kompakt label, as well as a raft of singles and albums in various guises. His remixes for the likes of Depeche Mode, Chemical Brothers, Seelenluft, Cortney Tidwell and Freeform 5 have made him one of dance music’s most respected producers He has programmed for Goldfrapp and Gwen Stefani and his production credits include Tracey Thorn's acclaimed solo album 'Out Of The Woods', The Rapture's 'Pieces of the People We Love' and M83's latest 'Saturdays=Youth'. As a DJ Ewan's no slouch either, two CDs - SciFiHiFi Vol.1 for Soma and July 2007's fabric 35 were both nominated for Plug awards and his 2006 Resident Advisor Podcast was voted best of that year by the website's readers. A regular at clubs as varied as Privilege and Panoramabar and a resident at The Loft in Barcelona and the Robert Johnson in Offenbach, his sets - like the rest of his career - defy easy categorisation, marrying the independent and the underground with a pop sensibility that's all his own.
If thats not enough for you there's also Newcastle's favourite backroom residents El.Dee and Mick Rolfe taking care of all the disco and slightly more eclectic business that you can shake a very groovy stick at upstairs in room 2. What you waiting for? Get with it nit-wits!!

You can check out the facebook page for the event details here and join the 'D a d a' facebook group for upfront details of all the upcoming parties here.
Ewan Pearson RA27 from 06 (Winner of Readers Choice Award for Best Mixtape 06)

1. Jimpster - Seventh Wave (Dirtcrew Rework) [Freerange]
2. Junior Boys - In The Morning (Alex Smoke remix) [Domino]
3. Loco Dice - El Gayo Negro (Ovum)
4. Glove - Build The Fire (2006 Dub Edit) [Playhouse]
5. Ada - Living It Up [Areal]
6. Giorgos Gatzigristos - Sloenjse [K2]
7. Holger Zilske meets Dave DK - Midi Shower [Playhouse]
8. Phones - Worryin' [Good and Evil]
9. Justus Köhncke - Advance [Kompakt]
10. Cobblestone Jazz - Peace Offering [Wagon Repair]
11. Heckmann and Kauffelt - Kookaburra [AFU Ltd]
12. Microfunk - Pecan [Remote Area]
13. Noze - Kitchen [MBF]
14. Antena - Camino Del Sol (Joakim remix) [Permanent Vacation]

Download Ewan Pearson: RA 27 here innit!

No comments: